The Lifestyle Awakening: Part One

THE LIFE STYLE AWAKENING: Part One

By: Daphne Clarke-Hudson

Eye Opener

We have all had times in our lives when the metal hits the road. In our careers, jobs, relationships, health, money, weight, our children, spirituality and the list goes on. I have no intention in taking you down those painful journeys and have you relive the painful an agony of those moments; so sigh and take a “DEEP BREATH” I feel your pain as I write of my pain.

Let me set the stage for you.2013-03-21_11-43-041

Self-Employed

Age sixty-three years young

No medical or health insurance

Over-weight

Stiffness in the shoulders and neck area

Sometimes headache

No regular exercise routine

No doctors visit in two-year plus

Diagnosed with diabetic in the past

High blood pressure in the past

  Taking NO medications for the above diseases on a regular basic.

My awakening came in April of 2010 when a dear friend blessed me with a cheque with the instruction to go see the doctor! She was home and the lord had told her to give me the money and she argued with God that I was not complaining about needing money.

And the lord said to her “SHE NEEDS TO GO TO THE Doctor”

When my friend handed me something which I placed in my pocket…later found out it was a cheque; I was  surprised to say the least. I immediately thought which bill should I apply it to or should I just put it towards the Building fun campaign which was about to start at my Church the following week. With the understanding that God will help me take care of the bills for putting him first (I considered that money my first fruits, as I had not earned any income in a while.

I grabbed the telephone called my friend to thank her for the money; her reply don’t thank “ME” thank God because he told me you need it to go to the doctors because you are sick and don’t have the money for the doctor…SO THANK Him, followed by the money is for you to go to the doctor not for anything else.

Remember I had not gone to the doctor in over two years so I have no regular doctor to call for an appointment. Monday morning I began calling around to get an appointment for a visit, before I ask if they would take me my first question was “HOW MUCH” does it cost for a physical.  Who is your doctor Mam? I DO NOT HAVE ONE! Well in that case we have a long waiting list, the first date we have is in June towards the end! Would you like to make an appointment? NO I DO NOT! I need to see a doctor NOW.  After making four calls to four different doctors’ offices, I called a friend from my Church and ask who her doctor was and where was the office? She told me the name then said he was in New Milford. Better yet she said I know the office manager because she went to school with my daughter I will call her and get you an appointment. SHE IS SUCH A NICE GIRL…I have known her forever.  In less than thirty minutes I was smiling because I had an appointment to go see the doctor in five days. Again my infamous question “HOW MUCH DO THEY CHARGE”? I am not sure my friend told me, but they can put you on a payment plan if you don’t have all the money because I referred you…OK thank you very much. Still thinking in my mind I might be able to save some of the money to put towards my bills.

This indecent affirms to me the depth of my belief and faith in my spirituality. The Creator, God, the Universe, Higher power whatever label  one chooses to use at any given time does exists; at least for I have proven it time and time again.

So the day arrived for my doctors visit Yes I was a bit anxious however I was thinking I am OK! the pain in my neck is only from sitting at the computer too long and my headache steams from not eating a hot meal for breakfast ..So that’s from GAS. Big surprise! First stop the scale my weight on May 21, 2010 was 220 lbs…Not a number one welcome hearing.

Next stop bathroom for a urine sample test revealed that I had diabetic  Now for the zinger get dress in this gown sit up here and I’ll be back to take your Blood Pressure. Ten minutes later blood pressure reading was 200/100 it is high. Just relax and we will take it again in a few minutes, fifteen minutes passed the doctor himself took my blood pressure and both arms and the reading was 200/100.

Being a former Nurse I am thinking to myself…hospital you go for admission.

To say the least I was scared I began thinking all that could have happened to me with a blood pressure so elevated ;put it mildly I was a ticking time bomb, had my friend not listened to the instruction to give me that money to go to the doctor I would not be sharing this experience with you all. Thanks for her obedience and generosity which saved my life.

When the doctor allowed me to go home instead of to the hospital that afternoon, I had a clear understanding things needed to be different in my life. I left there thinking I must reinvent who I am my lifestyle MUST be different. Not sure how it would be done I was determined it must be done.

First stop was with my food intake, living alone with two cats makes things a little easier to modify and adjust your food plan. My downfall was sweets OH !Boy those Oatmeal Raisins Cookies from Costco those were my favorites,  four cookies at a sitting was nothing for me to put away. Daphne! those have to be off your list girlfriend.  Next stop potion control. I grew up hearing you must cook enough so in case you have company unexpected there is enough food. So although I live alone I literally cook enough to serve ten people.  I love fruits and vegetable so this is my blessing. My plan of action was to start doing more juices, salads, fruits and veggies. I brought me one of those juicing machines and went to work.

Shopping list changed to these items:

Apples, Bananas, Pineapples, Pears, Watermelons, Lemons, Mangoes, Cantaloupe, Honey Dew, Organic Carrots, Summer Greens, Romaine Lettuce, Ginger, Garlic, Onions, Turmeric, Spinach, Broccoli, Cabbage, Beets, Kale, Collars Greens, Chick Peas, Kidney Beans, Black-eyed Peas, Rotisserie Chicken $4.99 at Costco, Brown Rice, Sweet Potatoes, Olive Oil, Poop Chow, Asian Pears

Anything green at the Asian Market and I would ask for a lesson on how to prepare them

Wild caught Salmon, Water, Flax Seed, Cucumber, Squash green and yellow, Garlic, Onions, Green Tea, Better Melon, Tomatoes, Baby Pop Chow

The juicing revolution started three juices a day one cooked meal.

You will notice from my shopping list above there are no beef or other meats on it besides the chicken at that time I focused on getting more for my money spent.  During this time I was introduced to eating RAW foods Raw foods.  I thought for me this was a match made in haven. I was born and raised in a farming family as my friends tells me I can make a  gourmet meal from rocks and she is right. Now is the start of my smoothie revolution. Shopping list for this revolution looks this way.

Ginger, Coconut or Coconut Milk, Parsley, Mangoes, Green Apples, Red Apples, Turmeric, Sweet Potatoes, Pineapples, Celery, Cucumber, Beets, Beets Greens, Organic Carrots, Flax Seed, Distilled Water, Spinach, Bitter Melon, Dragon Fruit, Cactus Pears

Now I am at an AMAZING place in my life . Much more healthier and feeling wonderful.

Links to connect with me:

http://www.daphneclarkehudson.com

http://www.gofundme.com/1g4m38

https://www.facebook.com/DaphneClarkeHudson

https://twitter.com/dynamicdaphne

One thought on “The Lifestyle Awakening: Part One

  1. Pingback: The Lifestyle Awakening: Part One | My Authentic Empowered Transformed Self.

Leave a Reply

